Football Saturday Treats

IMG_7478

Football fun means lots of yummy treats to enjoy with the intensity of the game!
This past Saturday Josh and I had a couple people over to watch the Ohio State game( Go Buckeyes!)and when I asked Josh what he wanted me to make to eat the first thing he said was “your taco dip”. I haven’t made this stuff in almost over a year now, mainly because it is so unhealthy but so delicious that it gets devoured in seconds. I decided it would be the perfect time for me to make it again! I am a huge lover of Mexican food, so this dip is definitely one of my favorites! You can choose to use healthier ingredients to make this, which I would have like to done, but I stuck to the basics since others would be eating this and I wasn’t sure how they would feel about some of the swaps!

IMG_7464

Above is everything I used to make this, as you can see it doesn’t take much, and it’s super affordable!

IMG_7465

First you start by mixing a packet of taco seasoning in with a can of refried beans. I use the spicy jalapeño kind since I lil emu food to be a little more spicy, but you can use whatever flavor you’d like! You then spread this layer in a large baking pan.

IMG_7467

Next you mix a container of sour cream with 8 o.z. of cream cheese. Make sure you get it mixed up really well, it’s a lot easier if the cream cheese is softened. After it is mixed good you spread this layer on top of the beans.

IMG_7469

After the sour cream is spread out nicely you pour a layer of your choice of salsa on top. Use whatever brand and as much as you prefer, it is totally up to you! I usually use a full jar of a mild salsa!

IMG_7470IMG_7471

You then add a layer of lettuce, green onions, and tomatoes(forgot to take a photo of the tomatoes). Chop them up however you prefer and lay it evenly over the salsa.

IMG_7475

Then all that is left to do is layer it with a Mexican blend cheese and whatever toppings you like! I added jalapeños for an extra kick, but you can also add olives or anything else you prefer! (If you are wondering why there are no jalapeños on one side one of our guests do not like them so I made sure to leave them an empty spot!) I recommend letting it set in the fridge for at least 15 to 20 minutes before serving so it can have a little time to set and become more chilled! Serve it with your favorite brand of tortilla chips and you are good to go!

I always love using this recipe, it takes only about 10 minutes to make and it is always such a big hit! We also made ribs and macaroni and cheese with sugar cookies for desert! Let me know if you try out this recipe and how you liked it!

Leave a Reply

