Snow Day Fun

This morning we woke up to about 5 inches of snow on the ground, and we were both so excited. I was already off work today and Josh got the good news that he didn’t have to go in so we were able to spend the day together just chilling out and trying to stay warm. I decided to make a big yummy breakfast so I whipped up some pancakes and Josh cooked some spicy sausage patties. I ended up topping my pancakes with some mixed berries, they turned out super yummy, and let’s just pretend I am able to make a perfectly shaped pancake..

IMG_8519

IMG_8517

Also have you guys tried the Starbucks iced drinks that are already prepared? I’m not sure exactly what they are called but you can buy containers of them at they grocery, I got the caffe mocha, it is so so good, and so simple!

I have been on a roll with yummy dinners here lately. Last night I made us grilled Mac-n-Cheese sandwiches and oh. my. goodness. they were amazing. You just cook up some macaroni and cheese and then instead of making a normal grilled cheese sandwich you fill it with the macaroni and add a slice of cheese. It is really easy, and absolutely delicious. Tonight I made some spicy sweet potatoes fries and cheesy bbq chicken sandwiches! I don’t know they exact measurements of everything I used but here is my attempt at the recipes!

For the sweet potato fries you need 2 or 3 sweet potatoes that you peel and then slice VERY thin. Microwave them for 4 minutes then put them in the oven for about 20-25 minutes. After you take them out of the oven heat some oil (I used coconut oil) in a pan and pan fry the potatoes until they are slightly brown and crispy. Then toss them in some salt, paprika, garlic powder, and cayenne pepper.

For the sandwiches you start by shredding some chicken breast. Then you chop up some cilantro.

IMG_8522

(I am obsessed with fresh cilantro)

In a mixing bowl you combine the cilantro with some bbq, I used Red Hot spicy bbq, and then toss the shredded chicken in with it. Then I toasted some sourdough english muffins and put the chicken on them. Lastly I added a slice of sharp white cheddar and a slice of sharp cheddar. The cheese was super melty and all the flavors mixed together perfectly! I apologize for the ugly photo.

IMG_8525

Now we are relaxing (with some serious food comas) and watching the Winter premier of Pretty Little Liars, I am absolutely obsessed with this show! Hope everyone has enjoyed their (snow) day! XO

Leave a Reply

